Ask Your State Representative to Vote YES on SB 137

Take Action

Ask Your State Senator to Increase Kentucky's Tobacco Tax by at Least $1

Take Action

Ask Your State Senator to Prioritize Kids in the State Budget

Take Action

Be sure to check out the 2018 Kentucky General Assembly Bill Tracker to see the status of Blueprint for Kentucky's Children priorities and other bills that are good for kids.

Sign up to receive the action alerts here.

Spotlight on Youth: Promoting Education and the Welfare of Kids Through Judicial Leadership and Collarboration

By | 2014-01-14T15:37:56+00:00 January 14th, 2014|Blog, Child Welfare & Safety, Youth Justice|

spotlight on youthAcross the country we are seeking ways to create better outcomes for at-risk youth. There are juvenile court judges who have have used their leadership roles to help foster collaborations to address problems in the juvenile justice system that contribute to high drop out rates, over incarceration, and disproportionate minority contact. These multidisciplinary collaboratives involve many stakeholders such as schools, law enforcement, prosecutors, courts, and members of the community. Judges have a unique and critical role in ensuring that each child has access to fair, equal and effective justice. This role not only occurs in the courtroom but through advocacy and engagement activities. On this Spotlight on Youth, guests will discuss the intersection of judicial leadership and collaboration and how policies, practices, and projects are being implemented to increase public safety and assist youth who either face or are already involved in the juvenile justice system.

Steven R. Gold, County Attorney, Henderson County, KY
Hon. Steven C. Teske, Chief Judge, Clayton County Juvenile Court, GA
Hon. Robert K. Wiederstein, District Court Judge, Henderson County, KY


 A Generation Later; What We’ve Learned about Zero Tolerance in Schools
NCJFCJ- Articles and Bulletins

To listen to the show, go to Spotlight on Youth five minutes before the show is scheduled to start. If you would like to ask the guests a question live on air, you can call (347)994-1149 and push number 1 on your keypad.

January 17, 2014

3-4 p.m. Eastern
2-3 p.m. Central
1-2 p.m Mountain
12-1 p.m. Pacific


Spotlight on Youth is a radio show focusing on social and legal trends impacting the rights and well-being of youth across the country. Spotlight on Youth is hosted by the Children’s Law Center, Inc., a not-for-profit legal services organization dedicated to children’s rights issues. Located in Kentucky, Children Law Center represents children in a variety of matters, participates in research and innovative community-based initiatives, and engages in larger reform work that affects practice and policy on regional and national levels.

For more information about Spotlight on Youth contact Lauren at or for technical assistance contact Angela at

Leave A Comment