Spotlight on Youth: Working to Help Crossover Youth

spotlight on youthAdolescents that move between the child welfare and juvenile justice systems, or are known to both concurrently are referred to as crossover youth. Crossover youth often enter the juvenile justice system at younger ages than other youth, have been traumatized by maltreatment, have higher rates of detention and incarceration than other youth charged with similar offenses, and frequently experience academic failure and homelessness. This recognition has lead to a greater understanding of the complex and significant individual and systemic issues they face — and the fact that they require ongoing services and a coordinated systems response. The Crossover Youth Practice Model (CYPM) was developed by the Center for Juvenile Justice Reform at Georgetown University’s Public Policy Institute in collaboration with Casey Family Programs. By infusing both research and practice, the CYPM helps systems strengthen their organizational structure and improve responses that directly affect the outcomes for crossover youth. On this episode, guests will discuss the issue of crossover youth and explore CYPM’s approach. Representatives from two jurisdictions, Travis County, Texas and Marion County, Oregon, will also be joining the show to share how they have implemented the model and its impact to date.

Guests:
Shay Bilchik, Director, Center for Juvenile Justice Reform, Georgetown Public Policy Institute
Estela P. Medina, Chief Juvenile Probation Officer, Travis County
Joan Oliver, Probation Officer, Marion County Juvenile Court
Jason Walling, Child Welfare Systems Innovation Program Manager, Marion County

To listen to the show, go to Spotlight on Youth  five minutes before the show is scheduled to start. If you would like to ask the guests a question live on air, you can call (347)994-1149 and push number 1 on your keypad.

September 13th, 2013

3-4 p.m. Eastern
2-3 p.m. Central
1-2 p.m Mountain
12-1 p.m. Pacific

Spotlight on Youth is a radio show focusing on social and legal trends impacting the rights and well-being of youth across the country. Spotlight on Youth is hosted by the Children’s Law Center, Inc., a not-for-profit legal services organization dedicated to children’s rights issues. Located in Kentucky, Children Law Center represents children in a variety of matters, participates in research and innovative community-based initiatives, and engages in larger reform work that affects practice and policy on regional and national levels.

For more information about Spotlight on Youth contact Lauren at  childrenslaw@ispconsults.com or for technical assistance contact Angela at achang@childrenslawky.org.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *